Classic Book Challenge

It has been over 2 years since I made a resolution for myself.* I wanted to read more classic books. I had the wonderful opportunity to read several of them in school as I pursued my English major. But there are so many other good classics that I never got a chance to read. I was so determined on my new goal that I even bought a few.

Now it is 2 years later and I’m still plodding through my first selection, A Tale of Two Cities. (Why did I have to start with Dickens? I forgot how bloody wordy he is. Get to the point, Charles!)

But Dickens is really not the problem. I learned that the problem is me. I used to read classic books just fine when I was in college, and enjoyed a fair share of them. Although I was plenty busy in college, I was able to focus so much of my energy in my school work (and for the nerd that I am, enjoyed it). I looked forward to reading and being able to discuss it the next day. I will admit there was the off chance that I didn’t read but I ended up only hurting myself by missing out.**

My desire to read and learn has not changed. My focus simply has changed. I went back to school to study American Sign Language and Interpreting. I have a new job that keeps me vested in the Deaf community. After a long day, the last thing I want to do is plow through a classic. I want to enjoy my reading as a leisurely activity, not work.

Oddly, I feel both disappointed and relieved. I feel disappointed, because I’m not in college anymore. I don’t have the energy to devote myself to the written word as much as I used to. Although I had read a great deal of classics that I set out to read, I wish I had read even more. I also feel relieved, because my love for reading has not waned. It simply has adjusted to accommodate my current lifestyle.

I think that I will continue to try reading the classics. I don’t want to give it up. I think my new goal is to still read a classic a year. Between my everyday books, read a chapter or two. If the classic ends up grabbing my attention, then I might finish it faster. Who knows? I’m not going to set impossible goals for myself and fail. Taking it One. Step. At. A. Time.

But damn it, I’m going to finish you Dickens!

*A resolution I make every year is to work on this blog more. Every year I fail miserably.

**Those were also some boring class days. I tended to keep the conversation very lively.

One thought on “Classic Book Challenge

  1. You kept conversations interesting and on topic during the class I shared with you. You didn’t talk just for the sake of talking or “getting points,” you actually had opinions and arguments. I know how much you love reading… there isn’t a day I’m with you that I don’t see you pull out at least some sort of book. Good luck with your goals!

Leave a Reply

